Vermont's high school question-and-answer
academic competition for more than 30 years.
Welcome to the home of competitive academics in the state of Vermont. Since the 1983-84 school year, the Vermont-NEA Scholars' Bowl has been challenging teams of high school students to show their smarts in a fast-paced question-and-answer format. This year teams from around the state are seeking to dethrone champion Essex and earn the right to represent Vermont in national competition.

The Mount Abraham Union High School team celebrates after defeating Montpelier to win the Vermont-NEA Scholars' Bowl's inaugural small-school championship on January 31. MAU will be one of 13 teams competing for the overall state title on March 28. (Photo by Kevin Commo)

Essex Earns Second Straight NAQT State Championship
Essex captured the Vermont NAQT Championship for the second straight year on Friday, March 6, sweeping nine rounds of matches to conquer a field of 28 teams at Spaulding High School. The Hornets edged South Burlington in overtime before outlastng runner-up Burlington 225-170 in a de facto title game in the last match of the A playoff round robin. Hanover, Bishop Guertin and South Burlington completed the top five in the large-school field. Montpelier B was the champion of the small-school competition, overcoming a loss to its own A team in the first playoff round by winning four straight matches -- including a 140-110 win over Middlebury A, the other 4-1 playoff team. South Burlington's Phil Holt was the top overall scorer while BFA-Fairfax's Geoff Schukei was the leading scorer among the small schools.
Full tournament statistics.

Upcoming Competitions
(See Upcoming Events for contact information)

Date Event Location
Mar. 14 Vermont History Bowl Burlington H.S.
Mar. 28 Scholars' Bowl Finals University of Vermont
April 25 NAQT Small-School Nationals Atlanta, Ga.

This page has been visited by free web counter people since the counter reset itself in March 2006

If you are interested in information about our organization, email Tournament Director Kevin Commo.

Designed 7/1/98 using Microsoft Front Page Express. Last updated 3/6/2015. This page is maintained by Kevin Commo.
Copyright 2015, Vermont-NEA Scholars' Bowl